Here you will get full information about the BHU university and some other info like courses,admission procedure,fee,regestration,campus,hostels,etc..

It is a collegiate central university located in Varanasi,Banaras.It is spread over an area of 1,307 acres.It has total number of 39,689 student The south campus, spread over 2,700 acres.

Many famous national and international persons were the part of BHU.The people related to this institute are called BHUians.

BHU is organized into six institutes and 14 faculties (streams) and about 140 departments.And has 25 hostels.

The Institute of Science, originally established as the Faculty of Science and later upgraded, provides education in zoology,botany, biochemistry, computer science,geography, mathematics, physics, geophysics, geology, chemistry, statics, etc..


It was established by a group of 8 people who were Annie Besant, Maharaja Rameshwar Singh, Madan Mohan Malviya, Darbhanga Raj,and Prabhu Narayana Singh.It was a result of many years from raising funds for it to construction.

It was the result of a many people’s efforts that came finally into existence in 1916.


BHU University offers several Ph.D programmes in Physics, Chemistry, Environmental Sciences, Geophysics, Management Studies, Forensic Science, Horticulture.The different education courses are given at different faculty.

Some of its courses are B.A B.Com,B.Sc(all in honours), B.Ed, B.Ed special, MBBS, B.Tech, BPA, BAMs, B.pharm,L.Lb, food science and technology, visual arts, and many more courses and special courses like design and innovation.


Banaras Hindu University’s main campus is located on the southern edge of Varanasi, near the banks of the river Ganga. It is spread over 13,000 acres.

It has over 65 hostels, a legendary temple, a hospital, a main library along with three institute libraries, eight faculty libraries and over 25 departmental libraries and a museum.

It has a south campus 2,700 acres,in area.It’s name is Rajiv Gandhi South Campus.It hosts the Krishi Vigyan Kendra (Agricultural Science Centre).

The South Campus features a lecture complex, library, student hostels and faculty housing, besides administrative offices.


This institute conducts it’s national level exam namely (BHU-UET) Banaras Hindu University Undergraduate Entrance Test and (BHU-PET) during may and June.

The UET & PET exams are held for 5166 seats in online and offline mode in subject-wise papers. The total exam duration is two hours with multiple-choice questions.

Notable Alumni:

Two former President of India, Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan and A.P.J Abdul Kalam have worked and taught at the university.

Other notable Alumni includes Harshvardhan Rai, Bhupendra Hazarika, Collin Turnbull, Ashoka Agarwal, Lalji Singh, Robert m. Pirsig, T.V Ramakrishnan, and many more.


BHU celebrates vasant panchami as it’s foundation day.There is an intra-university fest, Spandan, where students represent their faculty/institute in various curriculum activities’ competitions.

The Banaras Hindu University Students Council represent and safeguard the interests of the students in the BHU UNIVERSITY. It gives several awards and medals to the BHUians as well.

Admission procedure:

Documents for BHU-PET:

  • Admit card, application form, BHU PET scorecard.
  • Provisional Seat allotment letter.
  • Marksheet & certificate of class 10+2 
  • Transfer Certificate.
  • Caste certificate.
  • Certificate in support of claim for Sports Seats.

Documents for BHU-UET:

  • Admit card, application form, BHU PET scorecard.
  • Provisional Seat allotment letter.
  • Marksheet & certificate of class 10+2 
  • Transfer Certificate.
  • Caste certificate.
  • Certificate in support of claim for Sports Seats.



  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of commerce
  • Faculty of visual arts
  • Faculty of education
  • Faculty of law
  • Faculty of performing arts
  • Faculty of social science
  • Faculty of Sanskrit Vidya Dharma Vijnan (SVDV)

Research center:

  • Center for Nanotechnology
  • Hydrogen Energy Center
  • UGC Advanced Immunodiagnostic Training and Research Center
  • Centre for Experimental Medicine and Surgery
  • Center for Women’s Studies and Development
  • Center for the Study of Nepal
  • Malviya Center for Peace Research
  • Center for Rural Integrated Development
  • Centre for Study of Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policy
  • Center of food science


  • Vasanta College for Women
  • Arya Mahila Mahavidyalaya
  • DAV postgraduate college
  • Vasant Kanya Mahavidyalaya


  • Ranvir Sanskrit Vidyalaya
  • Sanskrit Hindu boys school
  • Sanskrit Hindu girls school

General information:

It’s former name is Central Hindu College.Its motto in English and Hindi is Vidyayā’mritamașnute,”Knowledge imparts immortality”,It is 106 years old . It’s mascot is Goddess Saraswati,a and anthem is kuljeet -madhur manohar. It has almost 30,000+ student.

Official website-

Thanks for reading till here!!